top of page

In the beginning, there were electrons... Frank's Workbench I

This technology was born out of necessity. While working for a large civil engineering firm, I was struck by a hit and run driver that drove through the barricades on a closed road. During my recuperation, my salary was reduced to meager disability payments. The cost of gasoline to drive to the multiple doctor's offices was eating up a major part of the small funds I received. Having been a motorhead, car racer and aircraft maniac, I sat down in my spare time (there was lots of it while healing) and thought about what I could do to save gas. When I was more self-mobile, I tweaked my vehicle down to use less fuel. That helped a little, but not nearly enough.


After a scribble session about swapping carburetors, motors, transmissions and adding air dams and spoilers, I had the "Ah-ha!" moment: Go Electric! Being the warped engineer that I am, I designed and wrote out a schematic for the whole system in one afternoon. Then, I worked on making it fit in a vehicle. Two problems were instantly realized:

1) the system was too big to fit in a car and would require a trailer full of lead-acid batteries connected by cables to the electric motors, controllers and battery management system in the vehicle;

2) in my situation at the time, the cost was seriously prohibitive.

Time passed. I healed, mostly. I went back to work and technology caught up to my ideas. Now, the whole system fits inside a vehicle. Actually, it fits many different types of vehicles and ocean-going ships.

The system I developed relies on many diverse technologies to work together. Everything from passenger cars to race cars to airplanes and the space race. Insight and encouragement were provided by the words and works of Messrs. Nikola Tesla and Isaac Asimov, among many others. When asked, I refer to myself as a Cosmologist - someone interested in all things in the universe. That's how it all came together - putting things side by side that you wouldn't normally think go together.

More in the next blog.


Frank


bottom of page